Jaane kaha gaye woh….?

In my some earlier blogs, regarding my ‘filmy’ journey has posted my passion for Bollywood. A passion that any small town boy will have. A passion that was never countered by my parents. But also never encouraged! For about 6 yrs my average was a hindi flick a day on our newly acquired VCR with video cassettes @ Rs 10/-. Poor VCR. It was 18k bucks at that time…father’s hard earned money down the drains! But let us not deviate from the topic.

Those were the days when Mithun Da was a big star (so is He today, but Disco/break dace type). Govinda was rising. A new star was about to emerge. Chunkey Pandey. Can you believe it? His Aag Hi Aag has released and he was touted as better than Govinda by some filmy magazines and newspapers.

Why am I getting nostalgic? Because the other day came across a silly family drama on some silly channel that had Viveck Mushran, another one film wonder boy. Then another serial had Avinash Wadhawan, another few film Hero.

So I flashbacked. Where are they, and how they make their living:
• Sumeet Saigal ( he turned Hotelier, may be now he is a Producer, not sure though)
• Tarzan -Hemant Birje (can see him in brief role in a Salman starrer)
• Mamta Kulkarni, who can forget her in Stardust. Oouch!
• Kimi Katkar
• Shilpa Shirodkar/Namrata Shirodkar
• Armaan Kohli
• And many more I am trying to remember

It is just that how Bollywood is a dream that is broken and lost every week.

