By 1986 ‘Ramayan’ phenomenon has started. It took us all by storm. Much to these TV serials later. …
My parents continue to feast me on  my film apetite. They make it point that I get to see family dramas. So ‘Ghar Sansaar’ (1986) was a good one. It was one among many-many-mnay Jeetender (yes.not Jitendra!) – Sridevi- Jaya Prada starrers.  Although many of their films like Himmatwala, mawali, akalmand, maqsad, justice choudhary, etc.etc.etc. were relesed I was shown Ghar Sansaar. Family values u c. During this time Jaanbaaz (1986) was also released. I with my ‘filmy’ friends made a program to have a peeko of the movie in a cinema hall. And it was vetoed by my parents. Family values u c. My neighbourhood aunty told my mother that the film is dirty. not fit for children. Dimple Kapadia hot scenees.
tooooo hot....then
tooooo hot....then

Bikini scenes. OMG. The film bombed (every vote count u c). And now you see the movie was a bacchaa compared to what khwahish and Murder and Imraan Hashmi and Dostana do to our family values. But those were the times u c. Ramayan had just started.

So after cmmon man Jitender! I remember LOHA(1987) Multi starrer extravanza –  Dharmender, Shatrughan Sinha, Karan Kapoor, Mandakini or Kimi Katkar (i dont’ remember these heroines uc). Action packed, emotional drama. Dharmender dead in the end, me in shock. Other 2 gets the heroine, Amrish Puri as dirty as it can get. Beautiful songs. Chandi jaisa rang hai tera sone jaise baal. ek tu hi dhanwaan hai gori baaki sab kangal OR eesa peer na moosa peer sbase bada hai paisa peer. Strangely could not get these tracks on the web. although the insignificant numbers of this movie are available.

One more strange observation. I remember watching Begana(1986). It featured Dharmendra and Kumar Gaurav. Powerful drama (as I still remember it). Beautiful song – ajnabee hain log yahaan par, ajnabee hai zamaana. socha saaya saath dega, nikla wo bega.begana.apno mein main Begana….. Let alone this song could not find even http://download-songs.in/post/150-Hindi-Hits-Free-mp3-songs-download-from-Hindi-movies.aspx the movie in the filmpgraphy of its leading actors. 

Mr India(1987) was a riot. At this period we have seen VCR’s being launched. One of our campus neighbourhood ‘imported’ one from the Gulf. Muscat may be. The children managed to see Mr India on the VCR and showed it off to me. It was an insult to me. They used to tell me the scenes and I get frustrated. And it took some strong tantrums that I got to see the movie that Sunday evening. Watching thi movie was a mela like affair. Anil Kapoor was fascinating. Calender Satish Kaushik hilarious and very funny. Sridevi loved her,was my first crush I think.

TV was catching up. Doordarshan days shall be remembered later. Quality of films were getting down. Terrorism was picking up in Punjab and Haryana. VCR came into common being. Piracy has started. 

 But do remember Sanam Bewafa (1991). Beautiful Salman. Beautiful Story. Beautiful songs: Beirada nazar mil gayi to, mujhse dil wo mera maang baithe…kaise sambhlega unse mera dil, hai naa jaane kya maang baithe…. see link http://www.dishant.com/lyrics/movie-Sanam-Bewafa-(1991).html

I saw movie with my close school friend Akant on the last day of our Class IX Final exams. We friends are still in touch with each other. Incidentally we also watched Khuda Gawah (1992) together after our Class X Board exams were over. These 2 movies were my first 2 movies in Hall without my parents accompaning me.

still to come…VCR journey, worst Movie, DD Days

